AJ&K Home Department

Home Department is responsible for maintenance of law & order and protection of life and property of the citizens. The Home department has six wings namely General Wing, Police Wing, Prisons Wing, Internal Security Wing, Judicial Wing & Public Safety Wing. Prime Minister of AJK is the administrative head of the department and Chief Secretary also holds the responsibility as the Home Secretary assisted by one Additional Secretary and two Deputy Secretaries, four Section Officers in the performance of his duties.


The major functions of Home Department are:

  • Prevention & control of crime
  • Administration of Police Department
  • Regulation of arms & ammunition matters related to Civil Armed Forces
  • To impose ban on entry of persons affecting peace
  • To dispatch police parties to other provinces for recovery of stolen property and for the arrest of accused persons
  • To notify reward for the arrest of terrorists/criminals
  • To grant temporary parole in extreme and urgent situations
  • To grant Visa extension to Indian Nationals
  • To detain/deport/repatriate illegal immigrants
  • To deal with the matters related to licensing & working of private security agencies and arms dealer shops
  • To grant arms licenses
  • To ban and impose penalty for objectionable material/pamphlets/booklets/newspapers